Date

2017.10.18 - 29    7-11pm
2017.10.22 & 29  2-6pm 
2017.10.23 Off
(12 sessions + 1 showing on 10.29)
L5-10, Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre

Tuition Fees

$2800 (Whole course) 
$2500 (Theatre Horizon Alumni within the last two years)
$500 (Single-class)

Enquiries

+852 5401 6768 (WhatsApp)
workshop@theatrehorizon.com 

Lecture Demonstration & Showing Dates

2017.10.29    8pm

About Primitive Voice

The Primitive Voice seeks to reconnect each person to his/her original voice - a voice that is deeply physical and wonderfully versatile. This “primitive” voice can be used in performance training for actors, singers, and dancers, and in personal development to loosen psychological blocks and to discover more fully one's own personality. The roots of Toussaint's approach are found in his extensive work with deaf children. Through this experience he discovered the importance of the physical embodiment of sound and became fascinated with the raw and nomadic qualities of the human voice, unpolished by Western societal norms, values, and culture.

Official Website:
http://www.primitivevoice.com

Elements Involved
Voice movement theatre drama 

Who may apply?
Previous Primitive Voice workshop participants, professional performers and anyone who have received some training in theatre.

Language  
English

Openings  
25

THEATRE HORIZON PRESENTS

World Theatre Workshop Series

PRIMITIVE VOICE
TWO-WEEK WORKSHOP

with

Jean-René Toussaint

" This workshop is beyond voice training, beyond theatre. It is about life and about humanity. "  ─ A workshop participant in 2015.

Through accessing the primitive voice, the actor/singer, participant is invited to experiment with the full range of his/her body's composition and asymmetry. Each part of the body has its place in listening and expressing. Through exploring the wide palette of voice and movement combinations, the performer moves beyond the pedestrian use of his/her body, achieving both physically and mentally a complete tool for “being” on stage, in life.

During this process, we seek out and develop the roots of our social voices, thus becoming more mindful of our bodies' impulses. Exercises include: inhaled sounds, open throat vocalizing, stimulation of the diaphragm, communal manipulation of one body, surrendering to the group and to one's own impulses. Through this intensive training we surprise ourselves; the tiredness fades, the sensitivity grows , the voice opens.

Two years ago, Theatre Horizon invited Mr. Toussaint to come again to teach his workshop which a lot of students found an invaluable experience. Mr. Toussaint is returning with a two-week intensive workshop. This rare opportunity should not be missed. The workshop will be conducted in English.

 

Jean-René Toussaint
Instructor

Jean-RenéToussaint is a French-born director, actor, and voice teacher. He is the creator of a distinct school of vocal training for performing artists and therapists - a technique he has dubbed Stemwerk in Dutch or Primitive Voice for English speaking public- and is the founder and head of a training center in Rotterdam in the Netherlands and in Avanos-Cappadocie in Turkey.
He has been professionally active in theater since 1973, and has worked with major theatrical companies and artists such as the Living Theatre, the Roy Hart Theatre, Robert Wilson, and the Polish Laboratory Theatre. His vocal theory and technique are inspired by the work of Antonin Artaud, Jerzy Grotowski, and Roy Hart, which are all defining figures in contemporary theater and, in the cases of Grotowski and Hart, of voice technique. Toussaint has traveled through parts of Asia and India, studying diverse ancient vocal practices, from Afghan Sufi to Mongolian, Tibetan, and Japanese vocal traditions.

Reference Video

 
  © 2017 Theatre Horizon

日期

2017.10.18 - 29    7-11pm
2017.10.22 & 29  2-6pm 
2017.10.23 休息
 (共12節+1展演)

賽馬會創意藝術中心L5-10

報名日期

報名參加全期工作坊
2017.9.1 to 2017.10.02
單堂報名日期
2017.10.6 起

學費

$2800 (全期) 
$2500 (天邊外劇場最近兩年舊生)
$500 (單堂)

查詢

+852 5401 6768 (WhatsApp)
workshop@theatrehorizon.com 

關於原始聲音

「原始聲音」使人與自己原有的聲音 重新連在一起,這把「原始」的聲音潛藏在身體內,神奇而充滿可能性,可應用在演員、歌唱家及舞者的訓練上,又可用 來消除個人的心理障礙,深入地探索原有的個性,杜桑老師的方法源自他協助聽障孩子的經驗,他發現了聲音 作為一個身體的訓練是如何重要,他對於未被西方社會、價值觀及文化洗禮的原始聲音及它多變的特質產生濃厚的興趣。

官方網頁:
http://www.primitivevoice.com

工作坊元素
發聲  形體  劇場  戲劇

對象
原始聲音舊生、專業演員及曾接受演技訓練者

語言  
英語

名額  
25

天邊外劇場主辦

世界劇場表演工作坊系列之

 

原始聲音兩星期工作坊

導師:尚‧雷內‧杜桑

 

「這是一個超越聲音訓練、超越劇場、一個關於生命、關於人性的工作坊。」      ─ 一名2015年工作坊參與者

 

無論參加者是演員或歌唱家,都可以透過原始聲音,用自己的身體進行構圖及對稱形態的實驗,每一個身體部位都可以用來聆聽以及表達意思,通過探索聲音及動作的不同組合方式,表演者得以突破普通人的行動模式,磨鍊出可達到演出狀態的身體及精神。

在探索中,我們嘗試瞭解並發展個人與人交流的方式,使我們更意識到身體的動律,當中的練習包括:吸氣聲音、打開喉嚨聲音即興、刺激橫膈膜、集體控制一個身體、聽從群體和聽從身體動律。通過這次重點訓練,我們將令自己驚訝,疲勞消減,提升靈敏度,把聲音打開,是次工作坊中學員將把原始聲音應用在台詞上。

兩年前杜桑老師應天邊外劇場邀請來港授課,參與同學無不獲益良多,老師今次再度來港並一連教授近兩星期,切勿錯過這難得的機會!工作坊以英語授課。

 

 

 

尚‧雷內‧杜桑
Jean-René Toussaint
導師

尚‧雷內‧杜桑出生於法國,是一位導演、演員及聲音導師。他創立了別豎一格、專為表演者及治療師而設的聲音訓練方法 ,這方法在荷蘭稱為Stemwerk,英文名為Primitive Voice,他亦是荷蘭鹿特丹及土耳其阿瓦諾斯兩所訓練中心的創辦人及總監。

杜桑從1973年起活躍於劇場界,曾與世界級劇團及藝術家合作,例如生活劇場,羅伊哈特劇團、羅伯特‧威爾遜與及波蘭實驗劇團。他的一套發聲理論及技巧受到如阿陶、葛羅托斯基與及羅伊‧哈特等一些當代劇場的重要人物的薰陶。杜桑曾遠赴亞洲地區如印度等,學習不同的年代久遠的發聲方法,其中包括阿富汗的蘇菲社群、蒙古人、西藏人,以及日本的發聲傳統 。

參考片段

  © 2017 Theatre Horizon